Ronald T. Raines, PhD. – Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ronald T. Raines, Ph.D., is the Firmenich Professor of Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, an Associate Member of the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, and an Affiliate of the Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research at MIT. From 1989-2017, he was on the faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Raines is a leading expert on the chemistry of collagen, which is the most abundant protein in the human body. Using collagen mimetic peptides, he revealed the underlying basis for the structure and stability of collagen. By applying these insights, he created synthetic collagens that are stronger and longer than any found in Nature. His work on collagen has been supported by the NIH and Arthritis Foundation, and has led to numerous awards, including the Ralph F. Hirschmann Award in Peptide Chemistry and Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from the American Chemical Society, the Vincent du Vigneaud Award and Rao Makineni Lectureship from the American Peptide Society, and the Emil Thomas Kaiser Award from the Protein Society. Dr. Raines is an inventor on over 50 US patents, and provides Stuart Therapeutics with cutting-edge knowledge on the design, synthesis, and utility of collagen mimetic peptides.

Jay Pepose , MD.

Dr. Jay Pepose is the Founder and active Medical Director of the Pepose Vision Institute. He also serves as Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology at Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes-Jewish Hospital. He is a noted specialist in cataract, corneal and vision correction surgery.

A pioneer in laser eye surgery to correct nearsightedness, farsightedness and astigmatism, Dr. Pepose was one of an elite group of eye surgeons that conducted the nationwide clinical trial of the LASIK procedure for the correction of farsightedness and astigmatism. Dr. Pepose is involved in numerous clinical trials related to emerging implants, procedures and therapies for cataracts, glaucoma and other vision related conditions.

Dr. Pepose is the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including the prestigious Cogan award from the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology.

Dr. Pepose has contributed extensively to the scientific literature, holds two patents, and has been the recipient of competitive National Eye Institute research support. He serves on the editorial board of several prestigious ophthalmology journals and is associate editor of The American Journal of Ophthalmology.

Dr. Pepose earned his medical degree and Ph.D. from UCLA and completed his residency in ophthalmology at the Wilmer Institute, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions, the premier ophthalmology program in the country. He completed his subspecialty training in cornea and external diseases at Georgetown University Medical Center.

Ed Holland, MD.

Dr. Holland is the Director of Cornea Services at Cincinnati Eye Institute and Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Cincinnati. He attended the Loyola-Stritch School of Medicine in Chicago and trained in Ophthalmology at the University of Minnesota. He completed a fellowship in cornea and external disease at the University of Iowa, and then completed a second fellowship in ocular immunology at the National Eye Institute, National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland. He returned to serve as Director of Cornea and Refractive Surgery Service at the University of Minnesota. He was promoted to the position of Professor and was granted the Elias Potter Lyon Chair in Ophthalmology. He also served as President of the Minnesota Academy of Ophthalmology.

Dr. Holland formerly served as the President for the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery from 2011-2012. He was also a member of the Executive Committee and now serves as the Program Chair. Dr. Holland was a former member of the Board of Trustees for the American Academy of Ophthalmology. He has also been the Secretariat of the Annual Meeting for the American Academy of Ophthalmology. He was awarded the Life Achievement Honor Award at the 2012 American Academy of Ophthalmology Annual Meeting. Dr. Holland has served as the Chair of the Eye Bank Association and was the former Chair of the Medical Advisory Board for the Eye Bank Association of America. He is the past President of the Cornea Society and previously served on its Board of Directors.

Dr. Holland has been awarded the Castroviejo Award from the Cornea Society in 2013. He has also received both the Senior Achievement Award and The Honor Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology. He was awarded the Binkhorst Medal by the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery in 2008. He was a recipient of the 2002 Paton Society Award given by the Eye Bank Association of America. Among other honors, Dr. Holland has been listed in the “Best Doctors in America.” He has a national and international reputation for his knowledge and expertise in the field of cornea and external disease. He is frequently invited to attend lectures both nationally and internationally. Dr. Holland is the author of over 200 articles in peer review journals and has edited Cornea, the most widely read textbook on corneal disease and surgery.

As the Director of Cornea Services at the Cincinnati Eye Institute, Dr. Holland has attracted worldwide referrals for medical and surgical corneal problems and for stem cell transplantation. His clinical interests include Corneal Transplantation, Cataract Surgery, Ocular Surface Transplantation, and Refractive Surgery.

Vance Thompson, MD.

Vance Thompson, MD, graduated from Gregory High School in Gregory, South Dakota, and subsequently went on to complete his education at the University of South Dakota (BS-Chemistry), University of South Dakota School of Medicine (MD), Avera McKennan Hospital in Sioux Falls, South Dakota (Internship), University of Missouri – Columbia (Ophthalmology Residency), and Hunkeler Eye Clinic (Refractive Surgery Fellowship with Daniel S. Durrie, MD). Dr. Thompson has been practicing refractive, corneal and cataract surgery in Sioux Falls, South Dakota since 1991 and is a Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine. Dr. Thompson has been primary investigator in over 50 FDA-monitored clinical trials studying laser (excimer, holmium, and femtosecond) and implant (pseudophakic, phakic, and corneal inlay) vision correction since 1990. He was the Medical Monitor of the first FDA approved ophthalmic use of an excimer laser in the United States. He has also been the Medical Monitor of other studies and most recently was the co-monitor of Avedro’s corneal collagen crosslinking trial which was recently FDA approved. Dr. Thompson has numerous publications, including being a co-editor of the textbook Refractive Surgery and lectures and teaches throughout the world on refractive surgery. Dr. Thompson has numerous community interests which include serving on the Boards of the University of Sioux Falls, Sanford Health Foundation, the South Dakota Symphony, DakotaCare, US Bank, University of South Dakota, US Bank, a presidential appointment to the President’s Advisory Council for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC for 8 years during the Bush administration, and more.